Prime Minister Sogavare says that the current trend is driving humanity towards a three degrees’ Celsius world, which he says is not “a world we wish to bequeath to our future generations.”

Climate Change is the Single Greatest Threat to Our People: Sogavare

Prime Minister Manasseh Sogavare addressed the United Nations General Assembly (UNGA) on Friday, and singled out climate change as the “single greatest threat to our people and the planet.”
Prime Minister Sogavare urges the body representing small Island states to call on the UN High Level Panel on the MVI to provide a timeline on delivery of the final report.

Sogavare Supports Call For Adoption of New Index to Measure Vulnerability

Prime Minister, Hon. Manasseh Sogavare has told a meeting of the head of states and governments of Alliance of Small Island States (AOSIS) that Solomon Islands fully supports the organization’s objective to push for the Adoption of Multidimensional Vulnerability Index (MVI) at the United Nations General Assembly (UNGA).
The United Party candidate is among the six candidates who contested in the by-election.

Claudius Tei’ifi Wins West Kwaio Parliamentary Seat

Claudius Tei'ifi has won the West Kwaio Parliamentary seat. The newly elected MP contested under the Solomon Islands United Party (UP) banner.
Participants during the SICD Policy consultation facilitated by the Ministry of Rural Development (MRD) in Honiara for Renbel Province participants.

Renbel Wants Robust Mechanism to Control CDF

Rennell and Bellona (Renbel) Province has showed overwhelming support for the first ever Solomon Islands Constituency Development (SICD) Policy intention as they expressed their desire for a robust mechanism to control the Constituency Development Fund (CDF).
H.E Radu Gabriel Safta and PM Acting Honorable Manasseh Maelanga.

Romanian Ambassador Paid Courtesy Visit to Acting PM Maelanga

Romania’s new Ambassador His Excellency Radu Gabriel Safta paid a courtesy visit to Acting Prime Minister Hon. Manasseh Maelanga at the Office of the Prime Minister and Cabinet today.