News reports from Fiji state that a cabinet statement has announced that the country will establish diplomatic relations with four sovereign countries.

According to Fiji's daily and online newspaper, the Fiji Times Online, the decision by Fiji's cabinet to establish diplomatic relations with the Republic of Iceland, the Republic of Latvia, the Dominican Republic, and the Republic of Estonia was based on a submission by the interim Minister for Foreign Affairs, International Co-operation and Civil Aviation, Ratu Epeli Nailatikau.

According to Ratu Epeli, the 'four sovereign countries through their various diplomatic representatives overseas have all requested establishing diplomatic relations with Fiji with the purpose of promoting mutual understanding, strengthening friendship and bilateral cooperation'.

The report further states Ratu Epeli as saying that there was a need to explore and broaden Fiji's relation with the world and that "These new found relations without a doubt will lend support in meeting the challenges faced by Fiji".