National Futsal Coach, Dickson Kadau, has named his final squad for the Alfateh Continental Futsal Cup 2009 championship in Lybia next month.

With only a couple of weeks of training left, Kadau, decided to make the list public so that the named players can make their final preparations.

Sammy Osifelo is the only player from the training squad who did not make it to the final selection. He was injured in one of their training sessions and cannot recover in time for the championship. Jack Wetney is in Fiji and is expected to join the team this week. For Matthias Saru and Alfred Poamoana, this will be the first time for them to compete on the world stage. Alfred has had prior international experience and this may come in handy for him in the championship.

According to Kadau, the tournament will greatly help the team's preparations for the Oceania Football Confederation (OFC) qualifiers for the 2012 FIFA Futsal World Cup.

"This will add to the experience of the players and the management, therefore, this is an important opportunity for us" Kadau said.

Kadau took over the head coach role from Victor Waiia who led the team to Solomon Island's first World Cup appearance in the indoor code last year.

The tournament is from 5th - 11th October, 2009 and will be held in Tripoli the capital of Lybia. The Alfateh Continental Futsal World Cup was initiated by the Lybian Football Federation as a means for further developing the profile of the game throughout the world. Also taking part in the Alfateh Continental Futsal Cup are:
. Lybia
. Iran
. Spain
. Uruguay
. Guatemala

The team should leave for the tournament in the final week of this month. Bilikiki, the National Beach Soccer team, will also travel to the region later this year for the 2009 FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup in Dubai in the United Arab Emirates.

Kurukuru Official Team List


1. Lioka Alick
2. Hautarau Phillip
3. Ragamoa Lilo Elliot
4. Jenan Oscar Kapu
5. Saru Mathias
6. Sikwa'ae Moffat
7. Egeta James
8. Francis Lafai
9. Lea'alafa Micah
10. Alfred Paomoana
11. Ron Ginio Hobson
12. Jack Whitney
13. Stanley Puirana
14. Huia Paul

Team Officials:

1. Jeremy Bartlett - Head of Delegation
2. Samson Faisi - Solomon Islands Football Federation Representative
3. Scott Gilligan - Oceania Football Confederation Representative
4. Kadau Dickson - Head Coach
5. Sam Jerry - Assistant Coach
6. Gauba Charles - Physio

Copyright © 2009 SIFF Media. All Rights Reserved