The Solomon Islands Governor General, Sir Frank Kabui has congratulated the new MP-elects for East Are and North Malaita constituencies, saying that he wishes them well for their term in parliament.

Mr. Andrew Manepora'a won the East AreAre seat, while Vika Lusibaea won the North Malaita seat.

In a signed statement to officially declare Wednesday's by-election results, the Governor General stated that Andrew Manepora'a as winning candidate, polled a total of 2,157 votes and had won the by elections in East AreAre by a majority of 929 votes.

Other by-election results for East AreAre: Aliki Toka Ha'apio polled 1,228; Sir Peter Kenilorea polled 460; and, Claudius Horiwapu polled 150 votes.

For the North Malaita by-election results, the Governor General stated Vika Lusibaea polled a total of 2,802 votes and had won by a majority of 1,901 votes.

Other by-election results for North Malaita: Frederick Kwainairara polled 901 votes; Senley Levi Filualea polled 675 votes; Peter Fairamoa polled 503 votes; Danny Ratai Fa'afunua polled 269 votes; John Moffat Konofilia polled 248 votes; Wilfred Baetalua polled 189 votes; Felix Maelil Abuofa polled 51 votes; George Sensie polled 23 votes; and Ben Fruits O'bana polled only 4 votes.