Sammy Galo has been elected as the new Member of Parliament for the South Choisuel Constituency.

Returning Officer Henry Deva made the declaration minutes ago.

Mr Galo had to wait until the final box was counted before he became the clear winner.

He won by the slimmest of margins, one vote.

Final result as follows;

Sammy Qalo 1671
Tozen Leokana 1670
Jackson Kiloe 869
Baoro Koraua Laxton 611
Nanette Tutua 241
Amos Qurusu 57