Former Prime Minister Dr Derek Sikua of the C-NURA Government has won his seat with a huge majority over his closest rival Alfred Lovanitilia.

Dr Sikua is said to have won with a majority of well over 1000 votes for his North East Guadalcanal constituency.

Dr Sikua was first elected to the National Parliament of Solomon Islands for North East Guadalcanal Constituency on 5 April 2006. He was the Minister for Education and Human Resources Development from 4 May 2006 to 10 November 2007. He became Prime Minister when the Sogavare led government was ousted in a motion of no confidence.

Dr Derek Sikua would likely be in the running for Prime Minister, with other potential candidates being Manasseh Sogavare, Gordon Darcy Lilo, Danny Philip, Job Tausinga and Steve Abana, although results for Mr Abana's seat are yet to be finalised.

The Solomon Islands Democratic Party, with nine winning candidates, has the highest number so far, although a coalition will determine the next government. Party insiders say that they are hopeful for three more as counting continues in other constituencies.

It is understood that lobbying for the country's top job has already begun over the weekend.