The Solomon Islands Government has announced the names of nine Permanent Secretaries who have been appointed recently by the Public Service Commission, following consultations with the Prime Minister, on May 6th pursuant to section 128(1) of the Constitution.

The appointments were made after the end of the previous post holders’ Appointment Contracts and Agreements of Service on 10th December 2014.

These appointments were extended by the Public service Commission to 30th March 2015 and were further extended by the Public Service Commission to 30th April 2015.

The positions were advertised since October 2014 and some of the posts were re-advertised to seek more applicants.

The Public Service Commission carried out interviews of applicants early in 2015 when potential candidates were identified and recommended for appointment.

After consultations with the Prime Minister as required under section 128(1) of the Constitution, the Public service Commission on 6th may 2015 made the appointments of the following Permanent secretaries:

New Appointments: Mr Joseph Pius Waleanisia – Secretary to the Prime Minister; Mr Harry Kuma – Ministry of Finance and Treasury; Mr George Palua – Ministry of Home Affairs;Mr Vaeno Vigulu – Ministry of Forest and Research

Returning Permanent Secretaries: Mr James Remobatu – Secretary to Cabinet; Mr Shadrach Fanega – Ministry of Development Planning and Aid Coordination; Mrs Ethel Sigimanu – Ministry of Women, Youth and Children Affairs;Ms Selina Boso – Ministry of Rural Development; Dr Christian Ramofafia – Ministry of Fisheries and Marine Resources

The Government is currently advertising Permanent Secretary Posts for four other Ministries whose terms will soon expire. Successful candidates will be announced when the posts are filled.

Source: Press Release, Government Communications Unit