Seven countries around the region have joined together to form the Pacific Cruise group.

According to the Samoa Observer, the Samoa Tourism Authority made the confirmation last week following the formation which took place after the Seatrade Convention, held in Miami, Florida.

The countries that have formed the group are Samoa, Tahiti, Cook Islands, Fiji, New Caledonia, Australia and New Zealand.
According to the report, Samoa's Principal Marketing Officer, Muliagatele Stella Siale Fong, said in a statement, "In these trial times of global financial crisis, the South Pacific countries have come together to form a South Pacific Cruise Group to formulate strategies to ensure that more cruise ships and tourists visit our shores."

"(The idea is to) work together to support and strengthen the Pacific connection (which) was one highlight of the meeting."