The 2023 Pacific Games Organizing Committee (GOC) is pleased to announce that the Special Broadcasting Service Corporation (SBS) has acquired exclusive Australian broadcast rights for the Sol2023 Pacific Games.

SBS and sister channel NITV (National Indigenous Television) will cover the Opening and Closing Ceremonies and a broad range of events throughout the two weeks of the 2023 Pacific Games, live and free to air, as well via streaming platform, SBS On Demand.

SBS Director of Sport, Ken Shipp, said “The Pacific Games is the most significant sports event on the Oceania calendar, bringing together athletes from all the Island nations.

“SBS is really pleased to be able to showcase this incredible event to Australian audiences. It is a sports and cultural celebration like no other and a great addition to the growing catalogue of under-represented sports which SBS is proud to support.”

Mr. Shipp said that SBS’ comprehensive broadcasting plans will be announced in the coming months.

As the Host Broadcaster, Sol2023 will cover all 24 sports and produce a daily program of 8-10 hours of coverage, available to SBS and other rights holders across the Pacific.

Additionally, all rights holders will have the freedom to produce their own coverage, and make use of live venue feeds to spotlight athlete performances from all 24 competing nations.

Peter Stewart, CEO of the Sol2023 Games Organizing Committee, said that “Having SBS once again broadcast the Pacific Games in Australia live and free to air is a great opportunity to promote Solomon Islands to one of the nation’s major tourism markets.

“The support of this important Australian broadcaster re-affirms the growing stature of the Pacific Games throughout the region.”

The Host Broadcaster will produce over 1,000 hours of coverage during the 2023 Pacific Games.

Meanwhile more rights holders across the Pacific as well as domestic coverage in the Solomon Islands will be announced this month.

The 2023 Pacific Games will be held in Honiara, Solomon Islands November 19 to December 2, 2023, with 24 nations competing across 24 sports.

Source: Press Release