Prime Minister Manasseh Sogavare has filled the two vacant Ministerial portfolios following the passing away and resignation of respective former ministers last year.

Hon. Stanley Festus Sofu and Hon. Augustine Auga were formally sworn-in by the Governor General, His Excellency, Sir David Vunagi at Government House today.

Hon. Sofu is the new Minister for the Ministry of Environment, Climate Change, Disaster Management and Meteorology (MECCDD), replacing former Minister, the late Titus Fika.
Hon. Augustine Auga is the new Minister for Agriculture and Livestock (MAL), replacing former Minister Senley Filualea who resigned last year.

The two Ministers pledged their allegiance to the prescribed roles placed on them – promising to serve the government and people of Solomon Islands to the best of their abilities.

Hon. Sofu is the Member of Parliament for the East Kwaio constituency while Augustine Auga is the Member of Parliament for Lau-Baelelea constituency both in Malaita Province.

Source: GCU