Three new Ministers have been sworn in this afternoon.

A call to Government House confirmed to Solomon Times that three government backbenchers took their Oath before the Governor General, Sir Nathaniel Waena, this afternoon.

The swearing in comes only a day after a Memorandum of Understanding was signed, petitioning for the removal of Prime Minister Manasseh Sogavare.

The three backbenchers are: Hon. Trevor Olovae for National Planning and Aid Coordination, Hon. Martin Magga for Justice and Legal Affairs and Hon. Martin Sopage for Infrastructure and Development.

The three government backbenchers were among signatories to the Memorandum of Understanding that was signed and delivered to Sir Nathaniel yesterday.