Nine provincial teams will participate in the Telekom Cup this year.

The nine teams include the Honiara side for the games that will take place 26th May to 6th June.

"Part of the rules set by SIFF in order to be eligible for the Telekom Cup was to organize provincial tournaments and three provinces that did not follow the instructions have been disqualified," Eddie Ngava told journalists in a press conference on Friday.

The provincial teams are Lauru, Temotu and Rennell-Bellona.

Mr. Ngava said that SIFF would like to see some good competitions in order to have a good team to represent Solomon Islands in the next OFC championships.

"We want 12 teams to compete in this competition but with three vacant spaces due to the other three teams not participating, SIFF will give the spaces to any teams in the other provinces who are prepared to participate."

Mr. Ngava told the press conference that the national club championship is about having the participation of professional clubs.

"We urge participating teams to perform to their best because the strength of the competition is what is really important," he said.