The Speaker of the 11th Parliament is Patteson Oti.

A total of 48 votes casted, of the 48, 30 was in favor of Mr. Patteson Oti, 15 in favor of Mr. Ajilon Jasper Nasiu, 3 spoilt and 2 absent.

Mr Oti has had a long and distinguished career as a public servant, politician and most recently diplomat, serving as Solomon Islands High Commissioner to Fiji.

After completing his tertiary education Mr Oti served in various government ministries before he entered politics. He was first elected to the National Parliament of Solomon Islands for Temotu Nende Constituency on 6 August 1997. He was re-elected on 5 December 2001, 5 April 2006 – serving a total of three terms.

During his time as an MP Mr Oti was, on various occasions, Deputy Prime Minister, Foreign Affairs Minister and Leader of the Parliamentary Opposition group. He made an unsuccessful attempt at the position of Prime Minister, losing out to Derek Sikua.