Solomon Islands has a new Prime Minister.

The Opposition candidate, Dr. Derek Sikua, was elected at 11am, defeating his rival government candidate, Patteson Oti.

A former Minister for Education in the previous Sogavare-led government, Dr. Sikua was one of eight Cabinet Ministers and one backbencher, who defected from the former government.

Dr. Sikua moved a motion of no confidence against the then Prime Minister Manasseh Sogavare last Thursday 13th December, which saw Sogavare bowing out in a 25-22 vote.

The MP for North East Guadalcanal, Guadalcanal Province was elected to the National Parliament of Solomon Islands for North East Guadalcanal Constituency on 5 April 2006.

Dr. Sikua, 48, hails from Ngalitavethi Village, East Tasiboko of Guadalcanal Province.