Temotu Province has a new Premier.

He is Provincial member for Vaekau Ward 2, Edward Daiwo.

Mr. Daiwo was the mover of the motion, which deposed Mr Levela from the premier's post.

SIBC's Andrew Nalua reports from Provincial capital Lata.

"Speaker of the Temotu Provincial Assembly Gabriel Teao has declared the newly election Premier of the Province, after elections this morning. He is honourable David Daiwo, Provincial member for Vaekau Ward 2. The result of the election is David Daiwo got 11 members, while his only rival got Patrick Bekolo, six members."

The new Premier was sworn-in yesterday afternoon and later announced his executive.

Copyright © 2009 The Solomon Islands Broadcasting Corporation. All Rights Reserved