On 20 November 2015 the EU signed the short-stay visa waiver Agreement with the Kingdom of Tonga. The new visa regime provides for visa-free travel for EU citizens when travelling to the territory of Tonga and for citizens of Tonga when travelling to the EU (Schengen area), for a period of stay of 90 days in any 180-day period.

The Agreement applies on a provisional basis as from 21 November 2015. It will encourage people-to-people contacts, boost tourism, and invigorate business between the EU and the Kingdom of Tonga.

In order to benefit from visa-free travel, citizens from the EU and Tonga must be in possession of a valid ordinary, diplomatic, service/official or special passport. Visa-free travel applies to all categories of persons and for any kind of purposes of travel (for instance tourism, cultural visits, scientific activities, family visits, business etc.), except to persons travelling for the purpose of carrying out a paid activity.

Ireland and the United Kingdom will not be subject to the application of the Agreement, in accordance with the protocols annexed to the EU treaties. The visa regime to these member states remains subject to their national legislation.