Western Province will today celebrate its 38th second appointed day.

The Western Province is one of the nine provinces of Solomon Islands, renowned for its beautiful tropical islands and world class diving and snorkelling locations.

The Western province is made up of 11 main islands, including New Georgia, Vella Lavella, Kolombangara, Rendova, Ranongga, Vangunu and Shortlands.

Western Province also hosts SolTuna, one of the biggest tuna processing plants in the Pacific region. SolTuna, based in the town of Noro in the Western Province, is also the country's only tuna processing facility.

The province is also renowned as where the American Navy ship, commanded by John F. Kennedy was bombed and sunk by the Japanese during World War II.

Happy celebrations Western Province!