The two new Members of Parliament for East Malaita and Aoke/Langalanga have taken their oaths yesterday morning at the National Parliament of Solomon Islands.

The two new Members are Hon. Manasseh Maelanga for East Malaita and Hon. Mathew Wale for Aoke/Langalanga.

The short ceremony was witnessed by fellow Parliamentarians, Senior Government Officials and members of the public.

What could be the first of its kind, the new Member of Parliament for Aoke/Langalanga Hon. Matthew Wale, undertook his oath of office in his own language from Langalanga.

A Bible Translator, Martha Matzki, said that the language used was the 'Wala Language,' a language that now has its own bible translation which was launched recently.

The election was necessitated with the passing away of two prominent leaders, and members of the two constituencies, the Late Bartholomew Ulufa'alu and the Late Joses Sanga.