The Governor General, His Excellency, the Right Reverend David Vunagi has appointed two Ministers today in accordance with the constitution.

This comes after the sacking of the Minister of Planning Hon. Rick Houenipwela and the Minister of Justice and Legal Affairs, Hon. Dr Tautai A. Kaitu'u.

MP for Baegu-Asifola constituency, Makario Tagini and MP for Fataleka constituency, Rex Ramofafia were immediately sworn-in at Government House to formalise their appointments.

Hon. Tagini was appointed as the new Minister for the Ministry of Justice and Legal Affairs, effectively replacing former Minister Dr. Tautai Kaitu’u Angikimua while Hon. Ramofafia was appointed as the new Minister for the Ministry of National Planning and Development Coordination, replacing former Minister Rick Houenipwela.

The appointment of new ministers and the revocation of the appointment of former ministers were based on advice from the Prime Minister according to the constitution.

Reasons for the changes in ministerial portfolios will be announced in an Official Statement from the Prime Minister.

The Democratic Coalition Government for Advancement (DCGA) is committed to the delivery of ongoing and prospective policy priorities in the interest of national unity and stability, lasting peace and economic advancement for Solomon Islands.

Source: Press Secretary, OPMC