The National Selection Committee started its work yesterday in the implementation of the Truth and Reconciliation Act 2008.

It has one month to call for nominations after which a selection of three Solomon Islanders will be forwarded to the Prime Minister to announce as members of the Truth and reconciliation Commission.

Two overseas Commissioners will also be appointed.

The three local Commissioners will be selected from the nominated persons.

So far eleven people have been forwarded to the committee which is currently checking their background and a letter has been sent to each other them whether or not they will be available to do the Commission's work full time.

The national Selection Committee consist of seven members representing important sectors in the community.

The Chairperson of the committee is the Chief Justice Sir Albert Palmer.

Copyright @ 2009. Solomon Islands Broadcasting Corporation. All Rights Reserved.