A recent graduate, Mr Exsley Taloiburi who hails from North Malaita, has been selected as the Solomon Islands representatives to participate in the 2nd Emerging Pacific Leaders Dialogue (EPLD) scheduled to take place from 11th to 23rd March 2010 - opening in Samoa and closing in Tonga.

Mr Taloiburi, 29, holds two Masters Degrees - a Master of Environmental Management from the University of Tasmania in Australia and a Master of Science in Marine Science from the University of the South Pacific in Fiji. He has also been instrumental in voluntary community development work in North Malaita since 2006.

Core of the EPLD 2010 program involves ten study tours to ten separate locations throughout the Pacific region, each of one week duration.

The Emerging Pacific Leaders Dialogue (EPLD) 2010 is an event of national and regional significance and is designed to inspire and uplift individuals with proven leadership experience or potential to contribute to leadership and governance in the Pacific Region, the long-term development and stability of the region, and promote regional understanding and cooperation.

The program will focus on a number of areas of strategic significance including economic growth; regional co-operation and infrastructure; governance and leadership; security, stability and strengthening communities; climate and environment; industry education and health.

EPLD was initiated by the highly respected and long-established Commonwealth Study Conference (CSC) organisations and CSC alumni in Australia, New Zealand and across the Pacific with the inaugural EPLD 2006 opening in Brisbane and closing in Auckland with 10 study tour locations around the Pacific including Solomon Islands.

EPLD 2010 is sponsored by government agencies and private sectors across the Pacific, particularly the Australian Government.

Participants will come from Australia, Cook Islands, East Timor, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, French Polynesia, Kiribati, Nauru, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Republic of the Marshall Islands, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, and Vanuatu.

The local EPLD 2010 organizing committee includes Mr Paul Tovua (chairman), Mr Priestley Habru (EPLD 2006 alumni), and Mr Desmond Nimepo (CSC alumni 2007).

In total, more than 600 applications had been received for this second pacific region leadership conference via the EPLD website on line application system.

Press Release (To'abaita Authority for Research & Development (TARD))