Prime Minister Manasseh Sogavare is leaving tomorrow for the 2007 Taiwan/Pacific Islands summit in Majuro, Marshall Islands.

The Prime Minister will be accompanied by his wife, Emmy Sogavare, and a six-member government delegation including the Minister for Provincial Government and Constituency Development, Japhet Waipora.

The 2007 summit is the second such meeting for Taiwan and the leaders of its pacific islands allies, Nauru, Marshall Islands, Tuvalu, Palau, Kirabati and Solomon Islands.

The first summit was held in Palau last year.

The purpose of the annual meeting is based on Taiwan and its allies' common belief on the fundamental principles of democracy, good governance, sustainable development, human rights and dignity.

This year's nine-day summit begins this Friday and will cover presentations on the progress and achievements in the implementation of the 2006 Palau Declarations and discussions on health, medical and environment protection issues. It will conclude with the signing of a declaration to be called the Marshall Islands Declaration.

The Prime Minister and his delegation will fly straight after the summit to Taiwan where the Prime Minister will be holding bilateral discussions with the Taiwanese President, Chen Shui-bian.

The delegation will return to Solomon Islands on Friday 19th, 2007. The delegation's trip to Marshall Islands and Taiwan is fully funded by the Taiwanese government.