The list of players selected for the Senior National Team Training Squad for 2010 has been released by the Solomon Islands Football Federation (SIFF) Technical Department. This follows more than a week of trials and the selection process which followed in Honiara.

The list was finalised in a meeting held by the Solomon Islands Football Coaches Association (SIFCA) and the members of the National Team Selection Panel on Thursday last week.

The original number of 25 players has been increased to 30 players to provide a buffer in the case that some players are not able to take part in matches due to unforeseen circumstances such as illness.

Selectors are emphasising that the Senior National Team Training Squad is not the final squad.

"The players named will continuously be monitored and should they fail the criteria they will be replaced by players who pass it. Nobody's place in the team is guaranteed," National Team Selection Program coordinator, Noel Wagapu said.

Selectors are also saying that players who are based overseas and have not been able to make the trials are not ruled out. Players like Benjamin Totori, Richard Anisua and Alick Maemae were not able to return home to attend the trials. Test matches later this year may be used to determine their place in the team.

"Players based overseas who are of a high quality may still join the team but they have to compete for spaces with our local players," Wagapu said.

With the release of the Senior National Team Training Squad also comes the appointment of the management team. Former national player and current KOSSA coach, Jacob Moli will be the National Team Head Coach. His assistant will be Rex Masuaku.
Both Moli and Masuaku hold Oceania Football Confederation (OFC) Senior Coaching licences.

The training program for the Senior National Team Training Squad will be published later this month.

Training Squad for the Senior National Soccer Team 2010


Shadrack Ramoni GK Koloale FC
Dida Qwaina GK Real Kakamora
Barth Fisiniu GK MFA


Gideon Omokirio - Northern Utd FC
Seni Ngava - KOSSA FC
Loni Garaba - LFA
Stanton Hila - GFA
Willie Shem - Rangers FC
Jacob Pekau - Marist FC
George Wagena - KOSSA FC
Rolland Rodi - LFA
Tome Faisi - KOSSA FC
Hardis Aengari - Uncles FC


Michael Patiti - GFA
Coleman Wasi - Uncles FC
Mostyn Beui - Koloale FC
Christopher Moia
Jeffery Bule - Koloale FC
George Aba - Makuru FC
Joe Manu - Naha FC
Welshman Houkarawa - Koloale FC
George Lui - Makuru FC
Gibson Daudau - Uncles FC


Abraham Iniga - Marist FC
Joses Nawo - Koloale FC
Ezra Sale - Koloale FC
Nicholas Muri - KOSSA FC
Commins Menapi - Marist FC
Joe Luwi - Marist FC
Fa'arodo Jr. Henry - Koloale FC