Six Candidates nominated to contest in the upcoming poll for South Choiseul National By-Election on the 19th May, 2021.

Chief Electoral Officer and Commissioner, Mrs Jane Waetara confirmed this after receiving report from the Election Manager for the South Choiseul National By-Election at the close of nomination yesterday.

She confirmed that there’s one (1) female and five (5) male candidates that have filed their nomination applications.

The six candidates’ political affiliation are as follows: -

Jackson Kiloe - People First Party
Sammy Qalo - Independent
Luxton Bauro Koraua - Independent
Tozen Leokana - Independent
Naneeth Tutua - Independent
Amos Papaqui Qurusu - Independent

“The Returning Officer will validate their eligibility to contest in the by-election after further assessment of their nomination applications”, Mrs Waetara said.

The 14 days nomination period opened on the 24th of March and closed on the 7th of April.

Candidate who wishes to withdraw his/her candidacy must inform the Returning Officer in writing before the 9th April.

The electoral commission reminds candidates that the listing on the ballot paper will not be according to the order in which they have filed in their nominations.

The returning Officer will conduct a ballot paper order draw to determine candidates’ position on the ballot paper on the 10th of April at the Malangono Nomination Centre, South Choiseul Constituency.

This event can be witness by any interested candidate and the public.

The Chief Electoral Officer and Commissioner would like to remind eligible voters from South Choiseul Constituency that Election Day is on the 19th May.

The CEO urges all eligible voter to check the electoral notices at polling venue for detailed information on the polling day, voting procedures, campaign offenses and penalties, and most importantly to confirm that their names are on the voter list before the Election Day.

Voters do note that, only those who have registered for south Choiseul constituency and have voted in 2019 National General Election are eligible to vote in the coming election.

Source: SIEC Media Release