People in six provinces will go to the polls on December 6 to choose their Provincial assembly members.

The provinces are Temotu, Guadalcanal, Rennell Bellona, Malaita, Isabel and Central.

Andrew Nanau of the Ministry of Provincial Government and Institutional Strengthening confirms that the Ministry had sent an official memo to the six provinces about a month ago concerning the date of the provincial elections.

He says the Ministry will do all it can to "ensure that the provincial elections are held in December as required under law."

Mr. Nanau says that the Ministry would look at introducing a single ballot box for all candidates at each polling station similar to the recent national general elections.