The Solomon Islands Prime Minister, Dr Derek Sikua has sacked five of his cabinet ministers.

This was following the defeat of the Constitution Political Parties Amendment Bill in parliament yesterday evening.

The five Ministers are; Finance Minister - Snyder Rini, Environment Minister - Gordon Darcy Lilo, Agriculture Minister - Selwyn Riumana, Justice Minister - Laurie Chan, and Fisheries Minister - Nollen Leni.

The sackings were confirmed late last night following the adjournment of yesterday's parliament meeting.

Prime Minister Sikua has also removed government backbencher and MP for West New Georgia Vona Vona Peter Boyers as Chairman of the Investment Corporation of Solomon Islands.

In his wind-up of the Constitution Political Parties Amendment Bill last night, Prime Minister Sikua had told parliament he was preparing to sack five cabinet ministers.

Meanwhile, the parliament will today address another of the government's political party reform bills - the Political Parties Registration and Adminstration Bill 2009.

According to the provisional order set down for today, the bill is due to be set down for second reading.

Debate on the Prime Minister's motion of sine die is also expected to continue today.