A young, energetic and competitive Oceania All Stars line-up will face David Beckham's LA Galaxy on Saturday December 6 at the Auckland Regional Council's Mt Smart Stadium.

According to Fiji Times Online, the core team, announced today at The Westin Hotel in Auckland's Lighter Quay, promises to showcase some of the best footballing talent from New Zealand and the South Pacific. "Oceania is honoured to bring together an All Star XI to participate in this match," said Oceania Football Confederation General Secretary Tai Nicholas.

"We have chosen the best players from around the region to make up a side that will challenge the opposition and thrill spectators.

"Matches such as these provide a wonderful spectacle for fans and help to show how football can make a difference to people's lives," he said.

The Oceania All Stars will be coached by former Football Federation Australia National Instructor Coach and OFC Technical Director, Jim Selby and former All Whites international and Auckland City FC coach, Colin Tuaa. They will be assisted by former Tahitian international and FIFA Technical Development Officer Patrick Jacquemet.

"This is a great opportunity for players from the Oceania region to test themselves against some of the best players in the world," Selby said.

"There is a lot of football potential in the South Pacific and this match presents an occasion for the players, Confederation and public to benchmark local talents on the international stage."

"One off matches can provide at times surprising and entertaining results - the local players will be there to prove that they can compete at the highest level of the game and against the best," he said.

Selby was assistant coach to former Switzerland coach Roy Hodgson for a World XI match against Australia in 1999.

"It is a real honour for me to be working with this group of Oceanian players," assistant coach Colin Tuaa said.

Oceania All Stars-

Jacob Spoonley (New Zealand);Benjamin Longue (New Caledonia); David Muta (Papua New Guinea); Fedy Vava (Vanuatu); Nelson Sale (Solomon Islands);Ivan Vicelich (New Zealand); Pierre Wajoka (New Caledonia); Raimana Lee Fung Kuee (Tahiti); Judd Molea (Solomon Islands); Jarrod Smith (New Zealand); Peni Finau (Fiji); Osea Vakatalesau (Fiji); Francois Sakama (Vanuatu); Malakai Tiwa (Fiji); Alick Maeme (Solomon Islands); Henry Faarodo (Solomon Islands); Christian Karembeu (France/New Caledonia); Steven Old (New Zealand).

Source: Fiji Times Online