The new United Nations International Children’s Emergency Fund, UNICEF’s Pacific representative Mr. Jonathan Veitch has been formally introduced to Prime Minister Hon. Manasseh Sogavare.

Mr. Jonathan Veitch also discussed with the Prime Minister, key issues relating to UNICEF’s work in Solomon Islands.

Welcoming Mr. Veitch, Prime Minister Sogavare acknowledged UNICEF for its excellent work in providing humanitarian and developmental aid assistance to Solomon Islands, especially amidst recent COVID 19 and November riot challenges.

“God’s hand is evident in our relationship. Thank God for his leadership and for friendship. Thank you UNCEF for your contribution towards this country. I take this opportunity to thank you.”

In response Mr. Veitch said that UNICEF looks forward to working closely with the government to ensure services continue to benefit Solomon Islanders.

“UNICEF has been here for long. We wish to remain longer in Solomon Islands. Our objectives for this country are ambitious. We want to do more,” Mr. Veitch stated.

Prime Minister Sogavare and Mr. Veitch also discussed the importance for UNICEF as well as other International agencies to operate their business within the ambit of National objectives- the National Development Strategy 2016- 2035.

Mr. Veitch says UNICEF will continue to focus on girls education, seeing that the rate of females completing formal education is very low compared to males.

"An important component of UNICEF’s program deals with nutrition and stunting of children," he added.

Prime Minister Sogavare was further assured of UNICEF’s program covering Child vaccination for measles and other diseases in the country.

The UNICEF Pacific rep further updated the Prime Minister, the UN Agency will need to up its game in the country.

Specific Youth Programs and Governance best tackle the needs of our youth who make up 50 percent of the country’s total population.

As UNICEF’s pacific representative, Mr. Veitch oversees UNICEF’s programs and operations in Solomon Islands, Cook Islands, Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Nauru, Niue, Palau, Samoa, Tokelau, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu.

Source: OPMC Press Release