Four Commissioners to the Political Parties Commission were sworn-in by the Governor General Sir David Vunagi at Government House this morning.

The Commissioners were recommended by the Prime Minister and Opposition Leader according to the Political Parties Integrity Act 2014. Their respective appointments is current for a period of three years.

The new Chair of the Commission is former Prime Minister Sir Francis Billy Hilly. He replaced former Chairlady Mrs Teasi Sanga, a former clerk to the National Parliament. Mrs Sanga has been reappointed as a Commissioner from the previous Commission.

Also reappointed is Dr Jack Maebuta, an academic by profession. Former Solomon Islands High Commissioner to New Zealand, Joy Kere was also appointed as a new Commissioner. A fifth Commissioner will be sworn-in at a later date.

The Governor General Sir David Vunagi congratulated the Commissioners on their appointments and wish them well in the service to the Commission.

Meanwhile, Registrar to the Political Parties Commission, Mr Jasper Anisi welcomed the Commissioners to the Commission and looked forward to their services during the duration of their appointments.

Source: GCU