Three new commissioners were sworn-in at Government House on Sunday to take up their appointments with the Solomon Islands Leadership Code Commission (LCC) and the Public Service Commission (PSC).

Mr Johnson Saunana and Mr Waeta Ben Tabusasi have been appointed Commissioners for the Leadership Code Commission (LCC) for the next two years while Mr Waigna Tion has been re-appointed Commissioner for the Public Service Commission (PSC) for the next three years.

Also in February, the new Chairman of the Parliamentary Entitlements Committee (PEC) Mr Johnson Siapu was sworn-in.

The appointment of the Commissioners is vital to enable these constitutional commissions to perform their functions.

The process of engagement involves a recommendation by the Prime Minister to the Governor General who makes the formal appointment of the Commissioners.


Source: Press Release, Government Communications Unit