The Solomon Islands Amateur Wrestling Association elected new office bearers after having their Annual General Meeting [AGM] yesterday.

Tonguoa Tabe was re-elected to be the president of SIAWA and though absent, Billy Pelise was vice president, Stanley Muliloa the treasurer, Patrick Turanga the secretary and two additional members elected were Teibana Mase and Masunu Pugeva.

Witnessing the election of the new office bearers was Morris Maitaki who represents the National Olympic Committee of Solomon Islands [NOCSI].

The election of the new committee members and the AGM was held after it was postponed last December because most executive members did not attend.

Meanwhile, Solomon Islands' national wrestler, Katea Ueresi, was elected as Sports Development Officer, SDO, for wrestling association.

This makes him to be the first development officer to look after developments of the sport in the country.