The official draw for next year’s OFC U-17 Women’s Championship has been completed at the OFC Headquarters in Auckland, New Zealand, confirming the road to the FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup Jordan 2016.

The tournament, which will be held in the Cook Islands from 9-23 January, will feature nine teams which have been split into two groups.

OFC Competitions and Events Manager Michael Song says the tournament is a proven pathway for players to experience football at higher levels.

“In terms of regional development it is very encouraging to see nine OFC Member Associations enter this competition,” he says.

“Players who have taken part in the past have gone on to play at U-20 level and represent their nation as part of senior teams.

“It is a great opportunity for the next generation of young players to make their mark, and for some the chance to play at the FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup.”

Group A contains Samoa, Tonga, Solomon Islands, New Caledonia and defending champions New Zealand.

Group B is made up of Fiji, Cook Islands, Vanuatu and Papua New Guinea.

The top two teams from each group will progress to the semi-finals.

New Zealand has won the only two previous editions of the OFC U-17 Women’s Championship, and after qualifying directly in 2014, will be shooting for a fourth-straight appearance at an U-17 Women’s World Cup.

Fiji, Samoa and Vanuatu meanwhile will all be competing at the tournament for the first time.

Kick off times are yet to be confirmed. To view the draw in full please click here.