Three provinces are among the first to submit their Tourism Development Plans to the Ministry of Culture and Tourism.

The provinces are Central, Temotu and Rennell-Bellona.

Development plans are to serve as a road map for the Ministry's tourism department on where and how valuable resources can be better utilized.

Reports from the Ministry of Culture and Tourism said that their tourism department is working with other sectors to carry out its action plans.

Some of the important action plans to be implemented by the department includes:

1. Cruise Ship Strategy
2. Facilitating in the re-development of the Anuha Island Resort
3. Awareness and training workshop
4. Funding assistance

A separate funding has been secured for the development of the Western Province Tourism Development Plan for 2008.

Work for this plan will commence as soon as funds are released.