Friday, 8 August 2008 4:24 PM


The Motion of No Confidence which has been debated since 9.30 am this morning has been defeated by 39 votes.

The result on the Motion was determined by roll call of Members of Parliament by the Clerk to Parliament, Mrs. Taesi Sanga.

As according to the Speaker of Parliament, Sir Peter Kenilorea, thirty nine Members of Parliament voted against the Motion of No Confidence and only eight Members of Parliament voted for the Motion.

One Member of Parliament abstained from the vote and none was absent to vote. This makes the total number of Members of Parliament who attended the Vote of No Confidence to stand at forty eight.

Following the Vote on the Motion of No Confidence, Hon. Prime Minister Dr. Derek Sikua, called to adjourn the Parliament for 9.30am on Monday the 11th.

Letters to the Editor All Letters
By STEVE BANI Vura Heights, East Honiara
By GEOFFREY MAURIASI USP, Lacuala Campus, Fiji
By CHARLES KOULI Gizo, Western Province