Friday, 22 August 2008 2:19 PM

Good Number of Candidates to Contest in Bye-Elections

So far, eighteen people have submitted their nominations to the two Returning Officers for the bye-elections in Lau/Mbaelelea and East Honiara Constituencies.

According to the Chief Electoral Officer, John Babalu, fourteen candidates have submitted their names for the Lau/Mbaelelea Constituency to replace the late Samuel Bentley Ragosomani who died last year.

For the East Honiara Constituency, four people have submitted their nominations for the bye-elections to replace the automatically disqualified East Honiara Parliament Member, Charles Dausabea.

Nominations for the bye-elections candidates will close on Tuesday the 26th of August.

Elections in the two constituencies have been declared by the Governor General, Sir Nathaniel Waena for the 23rd September 2008.


Letters to the Editor All Letters
By STEVE BANI Vura Heights, East Honiara
By GEOFFREY MAURIASI USP, Lacuala Campus, Fiji
By CHARLES KOULI Gizo, Western Province