Wednesday, 7 April 2010 8:45 AM

C-NURA Seeks to Form Government after Elections

Parties forming the current Coalition of National Unity and Rural Advancement (C-NURA) government have agreed in principal that they will contest the 2010 national general elections under a common platform.

The common agreement was reached at the group's one-day meeting in Honiara on Easter Monday.

Parties forming the C-NURA government include the National Party, Solomon Islands Democratic Party, Solomon Islands party for Rural Advancement, Liberal Party, People's Alliance Party and the Association of Independents.

A statement from the meeting says the political parties that have been running the C-NURA government since December 2007 has agreed that a Memorandum of Understanding will be put together for discussion at their second meeting next Sunday.

The meeting also resolved that the various C-NURA political grouping would conclude and sign a pre-election coalition agreement that would allow them to re-group after the elections to form the next government under the same C-NURA banner.

Current ministers and backbenchers overwhelmingly agreed that the C-NURA government, under Dr Sikua's leadership, had achieved alot and should be given another chance to continue with its development plans and implement those that are still outstanding.

Letters to the Editor All Letters
By STEVE BANI Vura Heights, East Honiara
By GEOFFREY MAURIASI USP, Lacuala Campus, Fiji
By CHARLES KOULI Gizo, Western Province