Tuesday, 10 August 2010 8:34 AM

Abana Re-elected

Care-taker Planning Minister Steve Abana has been re-elected in the Fataleka Constituency on Malaita following the elections last Wednesday.

The Returning Officer of the constituency declared Mr Abana as the winner at the end of the counting yesterday afternoon. Mr Abana polled 1,954 votes, a comfortable win from runner up Mr Felix Laumae Kabini who managed 978.

Mr Abana is a member of the Solomon Islands Democratic Party who now have 11 members and now in the running to form the next government.

Meanwhile, a former Government Minister Martin Magga has also retained his seat of Temotu Pele. A former MP Michael Maina came second in the election.

Walter Folotalu has also managed to retain his seat for the Lau/Mbaelelea constituency. Mr Folotalu is also a member of the Solomon Islands Democratic Party.

Letters to the Editor All Letters
By STEVE BANI Vura Heights, East Honiara
By GEOFFREY MAURIASI USP, Lacuala Campus, Fiji
By CHARLES KOULI Gizo, Western Province